Home » Our Region

Our Region


The Central and North West Queensland Medicare Local (CNWQML) region is a vast stretch of Queensland, incorporating regional centres, mining communities, small towns, pastoral stations and remote Indigenous communities. Travel across large distances is required to provide services. Natural and environmental impacts such as floods and drought are common.


We service an area of 636,519.9 km2, or 36.7% of the total land mass area of the Queensland.

Landscape        Landscape


As at 30 June 2012, the estimated resident population of the region was 45,234 persons, compared with 4,560,059 persons in Queensland. At the time of the 2011 Census, there were 7,334 persons in CNWQML Region who stated they were of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander origin. These persons made up 17.9% of the total population. Mount Isa City Local Government Area (LGA) contained the largest number of Indigenous persons (3,205 persons) followed by Doomadgee Shire LGA (1,184 persons).

Community Information

In May 2014, CNWQML submitted our Comprehensive Needs Analysis (CNA) to the Department of Health. CNA is a systematic way of identifying population health needs, examining service capacity and prioritising actions required to improve population health in our catchment. The information will help to inform future planning for the delivery of healthcare services in our region.

Read the CNA report here           CNA Attachment table


 Local Government Authorities in our Region

CNWQML overlaps with the Mount Isa Health Service District and Central West Health Service District.We service  32 communities, comprising 14 Local Government Areas.

Barcaldine Regional Council      Barcoo Shire Council      Blackall Tambo Regional Council
Boulia Shire Council Burke Shire Council Carpentaria Shire Council
Cloncurry Shire Council Diamantina Shire Council Doomadgee Shire Council
Longreach Shire Council McKinlay Shire Council Mornington Shire Council
Mount Isa City Council Winton Shire Council